Host City – Rome

Host City – Rome

Rome is the capital of Italy and a special comune (named Comune di Roma Capitale). Rome also serves as the capital of the Lazio region. With 2,874,558 residents in 1,285 km (496.1 sq mi), it is also the country's most populated comune. It is the fourthmost populous city in the European Union by population within city limits. It is the centre of the Metropolitan City of Rome, which has a population of 4.3 million residents. Rome is located in the central-western portion of the Italian Peninsula, within Lazio (Latium), along the shores of the Tiber. The Vatican City is an independent country inside the city boundaries of Rome, the only existing example of a country within a city: for this reason Rome has been often defined as capital of two states (

Founded: 753 b.c.; Unified: 1870

Location: Lazio region in Italy, Europe, on a peninsula extending from southern Europe into the Mediterranean Sea, bordering France to the northwest, Switzerland and Austria to the north, Sloveniato the northeast, and the Mediterranean Sea to the south

Time Zone: 11 am = noon Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)

Flag: Vertical bands of orange (left) and yellow.

Ethnic Composition: Italian; German, French, Slovenes, Albanian-Italians, Greek-Italians

Elevation: 4,336 m (14,453 ft) above sea level

Latitude and Longitude: 41°54′N, 12°30′E

Climate: Temperate, mild winters and long, dry, hot summers

Annual Mean Temperature: 7.4°C (45.3°F) in January; 25.7°C (78.3°F) in July

Average Annual Rainfall: 890 mm (35 in)

Government: Multi-party republic, headed by a president and prime minister, legislative power held by bicameral Parliament: Senate and Chamber of Deputies

Weights and Measures: Metric

Monetary Units: The euro (EUR). As of January 1, 1999, the lira became a subdivision of the Euro (conversion rate: 1,936.27 lira to one Euro; one Euro equals 100 cents.)

Telephone Area Codes: Italy country code 39; Rome city code 6